Eric Alterman

Senior Fellow

Expertise: American foreign policy; media criticism

Eric Alterman is a Distinguished Professor of English, Brooklyn College, City University of New York, and Professor of Journalism at the CUNY Graduate School of Journalism. He is also “The Liberal Media” columnist for The Nation, a senior fellow and “Altercation” weblogger for Media Matters for America, (formerly at in Washington, DC, a senior fellow at the Center for American Progress in Washington, DC, where he writes and edits the “Think Again” column, and a history consultant to HBO Films.

Termed "the most honest and incisive media critic writing today” in the National Catholic Reporter, and author of “the smartest and funniest political journal out there,” in The San Francisco Chronicle, Alterman is a frequent lecturer and contributor to numerous publications in the US, Europe and Latin America.

In the past Dr. Alterman wrote for and; formerly Adjunct Professor of Media History, New York University; Visiting Professor of Media History and Media Studies, Hofstra University (Fall, 1997); Contributing Writer, Mother Jones (1993-97); Contributing Writer, ELLE (1993-97); Columnist, The Sunday Express (London) (1996); Contributing Editor, Rolling Stone (1995-96); Junior Fellow, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace (1983). Media appearances for The Tonight Show, The Today Show, Nightline, The Charlie Rose Show, Crossfire, Booknotes, Journalist Roundtable, Media Week, All Things Considered, Fresh Air, On the Media, MSNBC, BBC and CBC Television.



Ph.D. in American History, Stanford University

M.A. in International Relations, Yale University

B.A. in History and Government, Cornell University

Twitter: @eric_alterman


Dr. Alterman is the author of a number of national bestsellers, including:
Reviewed: The New York Times, May 18, 2012.
Viking Adult, 2008
Reviewed: The New York Times, March 16, 2008; St. Louis Post-Dispatch, March 16, 2008.
Penguin, 2005
Basic Books, 2004
Penguin, 2004
Cornell University Press, 1992, 2000
Winner of the 1992 George Orwell Award